Amid the dual challenges of the global economic crisis due to the COVID-19 pandemic and climate change, green finance is fast becoming a new development concept and instrument that countries are striving to promote. Many pioneering practices and attempts have been carried out in terms of policies, institutions, industries and capacity building. Disseminating these successful cases on a global scale and accelerating the spread of green finance is crucial for carbon peaking and carbon neutrality target, driving green growth, sustainable development and even saving the planet on which we live.

The International Finance Forum (IFF), known as the F20 (Finance 20), upholds the spirit of “Comprehensive and Sustainable Development – New Capital, New Value, and New World”. IFF initiated the first Global Green Finance Award in 2020. Leveraging on global networks and platforms, IFF is committed to establishing partnerships worldwide via exchanges and dialogue with governments, enterprises and the civil society, to promote the development of green finance and foster green growth. Through research and demonstration , innovative green finance projects will foster green recovery in the post-pandemic era, thus contributing to green growth and realization of SDGs.

Salient features of the 2022 awards

Participation in high-level dialogue:

  • One representative of the winner will be eligible to attend the 2022 IFF Annual Meeting, a high-level dialogue platform in global finance;
  • Medal and certificate from IFF.

Accreditation by authorities:

  • The Jury is composed of distinguished leaders and scholars from the global economic and financial realms.

Attention from key stakeholders:

  • Face to face communication with prominent figures in global green finance;
  • Winners are revealed and propagated in the IFF Global Annual report.

Significant international influence:

  • Reports and publicity in global mainstream media will improve the winner’ green finance credentials, and enhance brand image and popularity.

Projects that are suitable for the awards

We are looking for global green finance solutions that promote the transformation of economic growth mode, contribute to pollution prevention and control, address climate change, improve energy efficiency, energy conservation and emission reduction. These include but are not limited to innovation and practices in policies, institutions, industries, services, technology and talent creation.


  • Award
  • Eligibility criteria

    The IFF 2022 Global Green Finance Award will consist of 10 Annual Awards for institutions and 10 Innovation Awards for innovative projects.

  • Annual Awards for Institutions:

    Granted to institutions that have made outstanding contributions to global, regional or national sustainable development through green finance practices, including achieving carbon peak and carbon neutrality, addressing climate change and biodiversity conservation. The green finance business of the institutions must be sustainable and profitable.

  • Innovation Awards for Innovative Projects:

    Granted to projects that demonstrate significant innovation in the field of green finance, in particular those that have made significant contributions to achieving carbon peak and carbon neutrality, addressing climate change and promoting biodiversity conservation.

  • Any institution that carries out activities which foster green finance development and produce real benefits are eligible to apply for the Awards, including public, private and non-profit organizations;

  • Eligible institutions to apply for the awards should be established no later than 2018, and the project activities should complete no earlier than 2018;

  • The project of the participating institutions must have produced actual economic, environmental or social impacts in the fields of green finance, climate change, and promotion of biodiversity conservation;

  • No threshold is set for the size of the project and its economic, environmental or social impact;

  • Applicants could only apply for one award, either Annual Award or Innovation Award;

  • Previous Annual Award winners are not encouraged for reapplying the Annual Awards, but Innovation Award winners could re-submit application for different innovative projects.

Jury Committee

Han Seung-soo

IFF Co-chairman
Chair, Council of the Presidents of the UN General Assembly
Former Prime Minister of Republic of Korea

Jenny Shipley

IFF Board Member
The chairperson of IFF Sustainable Development Committee
Co-chair of Silk Road International Association
Former Prime Minister of New Zealand

Erik Solheim

Former Under-Secretary-General of the United Nations
Former Executive Director of the UN Environment Programme (UNEP)

Deborah Lehr

IFF Board Member
Vice Chairman and Executive Director, Paulson Institute

Antony Leung

IFF Vice-president
Former Financial Secretary, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region

Leong Vai Tac

IFF Vice-president
Former Secretary for Economy and Finance of Macao Special Administrative Region

li Tong

IFF Board Member
Chief Executive Officer and Executive President of BOC International Holdings limited (BOCI)

li Zhengqiang

IFF Academic Committee Member
Former Chairman of Dalian Commodity Exchange
Researcher of Finance Department, School of International Trade and Economics, University of International Business and Economics

liN Jianhai

IFF Vice-president and Chairman of Global Center of the IFF
Former Secretary of IMF and the IMF's International Monetary and Financial Committee

liU Yanhua

IFF Advisory Committee Member
Honorary Director of National Climate Change Expert Committee
Former Vice Minister of Ministry of Science and Technology
IEAS academician

Bindu N. Lohani

IFF Academic Committee Member
Former Vice President of the Asian Development Bank

LYU Xuedu

IFF Academic Committee Member
Former Deputy Director General of the National Climate Center
Former Chief adviser on climate change of the ADB
Former Chairman, Host Country Committee, CFB, World Bank

NIE Qingping

IFF Academic Committee Member
Former Chairman of China Securities Finance Corporation

Frank Rijsberman

IFF Board Member
Director-general of Global Green Growth Institute (GGGI)

Domenico Siniscalco

IFF Vice-president
Former Minister of Economy and Finance of Italy
Vice Chairman, Morgan Stanley International limited


Executive Director of the IFF Academic Committee
Dean of IFF Institute
Dean of Economics and Management School of Wuhan University


IFF Academic Committee Member
Member of the Standing Committee of the 13th National People's Congress
Vice president, Institutes of Science and Development, Chinese Academy of Sciences

ZHANG Shenfeng

Vice Chairman of China Council for the Promotion of International Trade

ZHANG Yansheng

IFF Academic Committee Member
Former Secretary-General of the Academic Committee of the National Development and Reform Commission
Chief Researcher of China Center for International Economic Exchanges

ZHENG Guoguang

Secretary General of National Committee for Disaster Reduction
Member of UN Secretary High-level Panel on Global Sustainability
Co-Chair of Group on Earth Observations (GEO)


IFF Advisory Committee Member
Former Vice Minister of Environmental Protection of China

ZHOU Yanli

IFF Member
Member of CPPCC Standing Committee
Former Vice Chairman, China Insurance Regulatory Commission

ZHU Xian

IFF Vice-president and Secretary-General
Former Vice-president, New Development Bank
Former Vice-president, the World Bank



Previous Cases



Academic Support

Supporting Organizations